Monday, March 21, 2005

This week on OPAL: Women's history month and digital audiobooks!

Tuesday, March 22, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 9:00 p.m. GMT:
Women's History Month: Early Heroines of Quincy, Illinois
Join Arlis Dittmer from the Blessing-Rieman College of Nursing Library and Tom Peters from TAP Information Services as they discuss outstanding women who hailed from Quincy, including Melinda Germann, a physician.


Wednesday, March 23, 2005 beginning at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 1:00 Central, Noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific, and 7:00 p.m. GMT:
Introduction to Tumble ebooks and digital audio books
The purpose of this introductory online session is to provide an overview of three distinct but related collections of digital content:
1. Tumble Talking Books: digital audio books, primarily for adults
2. Tumble Readables: large print e-books, primarily for adults
3. Tumble Book Library: story books, games, and puzzles for children
Sponsored by the Mid-Illinois Talking Book Center.


Wednesday, March 23, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 9:00 p.m. GMT:
Digital Audio Books
There are many vendors of digital audio books, including Audible.com, OverDrive, netLibrary/Recorded Books, Tumble, and others. There also are many files formats and playback options. Join Tom Peters in an exploration of trends, issues, and opportunities.


Thursday, March 24, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 9:00 p.m. GMT:
OPAL Orientation for Moderators
If your library is interesting in learning more about membership in OPAL, or if you are going to moderate an OPAL session using the online meeting software from Talking Communities, this session is for you. Topics to be covered include: the enhanced features and functionality available to moderators, such as synchronized browsing; how to present a PowerPoint presentation; tips on recording sessions; managing and customizing your online room; and tips on facilitating an online event.

To participate, go to the OPAL auditorium at http://www.tcconference.com/lib/?auditorium&nopass_field=1
type your name and click enter to go into the online room.

For more information on programs, contact Tom Peters at tapinformation@yahoo.com

1 Comments:

At 1:44 AM, Blogger Ray said...

I like your blog! Check Out our website too its about university of north texas
. You can get to university of north texas
here. We have a Huge selection. RS

 

Post a Comment

<< Home