Wednesday, June 01, 2005

OPAL Online Programs for June

You're invited...to join us for June OPAL programs

Thursday, June 2, 2005 beginning at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 1:00 Central, Noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific, and 6:00 p.m. GMT:
Develop a New Image
Who taught you to see? Much like learning to read, photography can be the tool by which you understand the image better, and the ability to communicate with images. As a legally blind individual most of his life, Paul Wohlfeil had a 25 year professional photograpy career, and will share how photography is good for your health--even if you are blind.


Wednesday, June 8, 2005 beginning at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 1:00 Central, Noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific, and 6:00 p.m. GMT:
Family Reunions: Exploring Your Roots
An expert from the Library of Congress will provide an overview of the Local History and Genealogy collections and how they can be used to explore your family roots.


Wednesday, June 8, 2005 beginning at 8:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 7:00 Central, 6:00 Mountain, 5:00 Pacific, and Midnight GMT:
Book Discussion of Life of Pi, by Yann Martel
Pi Patel, the sole human survivor of a shipwreck, is in a lifeboat with an injured zebra, a hyena, an orangutan, and an adult Bengal tiger. Strangely, after 227 days in the Pacific, the boy and the tiger make landfall. Some violence.
RC 54950, 2 cassettes, narrated by Steven Carpenter.


Monday, June 13, 2005 beginning at 3:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 2:00 p.m. Central, 1:00 p.m. Mountain, Noon Pacific, and 7:00 p.m. GMT:
Interview with Paul Cappuzzello and Gillian Harrison regarding the digital audiobook service from netLibrary
In January 2005 netLibrary and Recorded Books LLC launched a new digital audiobook service. The WMA (Windows Media Audio) files can be checked out, downloaded, listened to on a computer, and transferred to a portable playback device. Paul and Gillian will describe how the new service works and answer questions from Tom Peters, the interviewer, and from the audience.


Wednesday, June 15, 2005 beginning at 11:00 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 10:00 a.m. Central, 9:00 a.m. Mountain, 8:00 a.m. Pacific, and 3:00 p.m. GMT:
Discovering Heroes
The “hero” is at the core of human tradition, religion and folklore all over the world. Heroes are woven through the very fabric of our contemporary social structure. Steve Benson of the Chicago Talking Book Center staff will present an overview of “the hero” as the subject in fiction and nonfiction. Join us for what promises to be a stimulating and thought provoking discussion on the concept of a hero.


Thursday, June 16, 2005 beginning at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 9:00 a.m. Central, 8:00 a.m.Mountain, 7:00 a.m. Pacific, and 2:00 p.m. GMT:
One for the Ages: Marketing Libraries to Baby Boomers and the Greatest Generation
Speakers include Barbara Mates, Head, Cleveland Public Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped and Sharon Ruda, Director, Illinois State Library Talking Book and Braille Service. Barbara Mates has won several ALA awards for her excellent work in serving the senior population and has written a number of books and articles on the topic. This event is scheduled to last two hours.


Wednesday, June 29, 2005 beginning at 12:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 11:30 a.m. Central, 10:30 a.m. Mountain, 9:30 a.m. Pacific, and 4:30 p.m. GMT:
Project HEALTHY: Dementia and Memory Loss
Dr. Ishani Ali, Director of the Geriatric Assessment Center in Peoria, Illinois, will discuss Alzheimers, Parkinson's disease, and other forms of memory loss. This program is part of Project HEALTHY, a series of online programs providing consumer health information of interest especially to senior citizens.

To attend a program, go to the online auditorium at
http://67.19.231.218/v4/login.asp?r=67955673&p=0
type your name and click login. A small software applet will download to your computer as you enter the room. All that is needed is an Internet connection, sound card, and speakers.

For more information, please contact Tom Peters, OPAL Coordinator at tapinformation@yahoo.com

2 Comments:

At 2:17 PM, Blogger autoparts said...

I just came across your blog about scottish genealogy and wanted to drop you a note telling you how impressed I was with the information you have posted here. I also have a web site about scottish genealogy so I know what I'm talking about when I say your site is top-notch! Keep up the great work, you are providing a great resource on the Internet here! If you get a chance, please stop by scottish genealogy

 
At 4:22 PM, Blogger Freddo said...

If your interested in setting up a limited liability company then please check out my business grant money start up site

 

Post a Comment

<< Home